Skip to content

Sushi Bowls

November 2, 2011

So, I will preface this by saying that, once again, I am completely unoriginal and that I got this idea from someone else.

I love sushi. Like, love-love sushi. Like, I would marry it if I could. Avocado rolls are a gift from the gods that I could eat at breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Sushi is also ungodly expensive. Urgh. Why are silly little avocado rolls so expensive?

I looked into making my own sushi. I bought a bamboo mat and everything. And yet? I’m freaked out by the thought of rolling my own sushi. I am not, however, freaked out by the thought of throwing all the yummy sushi ingredients that I love into a bowl and scarfing that down!

Deliciousness!
Hee! Dinner love!

Check me out! I took that picture and everything! So, if you love sushi but don’t love spending money, these bowls are for you!

The recipe is veganized from one found at The Way the Cookie Crumbles. I left out a few ingredients to make this a little more pantry friendly. I can get everything I need for it at the Super Target. Don’t judge.

Sushi Bowls 
(adapted from The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

Ingredients
1 c. steamed rice (I use my rice cooker!)
~1 tbs seasoned rice vineger
big pinch of sugar
small pinch of salt
carrots shredded (I buy them in the bag already cut up!)
1/2 avocado diced (or more! There is no such thing as to much avocado)
pickeled ginger
vegan soy sauce to taste
1/8 c. sesame seeds toasted

Directions
1) Start your rice in the rice cooker. While that works it magic, toast your sesame seeds in a small sauce pan on the stove. Set aside

2) While still warm, drizzle rice with the vinegar, salt, sugar & sesame seeds. Mix together until all the rice is shiny (I just mix mine right in the bowl I’m going to eat out of)*

3) Top with carrots, avocado, pickled ginger, and soy sauce

4) Devour!!

*Note: you’ll quickly learn how much vinegar and sugar you like on your rice. Start with less and then you can always add more.

That’s it! This recipe is so simple. While the rice is steaming in the rice cooker, I toast the seeds, and chop the avocado. Then it’s just mixing it all together and eating. As long as you keep carrots and avocado in your fridge, you can eat this any day of the week.

I should mention that sushi rice doesn’t really taste good the next day, so I only make as much as I’m going to eat for dinner. My rice cooker has a minimum setting that makes 2 cups of cooked rice so I save the other cup for something later in the week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

