Skip to content

Changes

October 10, 2011

As I look back on my first week of veganism, I am startled at some of the changes that are occurring. The most obvious is that I have lost nearly 4 pounds, just by cutting out dairy and eggs from my diet. I am also sleeping better and find that I am waking up a bit easier in the morning. This last one is a HUGE personal goal of mine since I am the opposite of a morning person.

Today is a holiday from work and I was voluntarily awake before husband even left this morning. That, my friends, is a side effect I enjoy.

One of the other changes I’ve noticed is that I’m popping into the grocery store more often for produce. Yes, I ate lots of veggies before, but I find myself reaching for produce before almost anything, and I’ve had to replenish in between the usual shopping trips. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but I bet I’m going to have to watch myself at the store for the next few weeks. I don’t want my food budget to get out of control.

This change has also reminded me about how supportive people can be if you just give them the chance. Minus one little spat when determining where to go for “date night dinner,” my husband has been remarkably supportive of this change. He doesn’t seem to mind at all. My mother, too, is being encouraging and asking questions. Questions that I am happy to answer.

All in all, I feel that this is an easily sustainable lifestyle. I thank Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s 30-day Vegan Challenge, because without it, I’d probably still be sitting on my ass talking about veganism. Instead, she’s given me the confidence to make the switch, and I am so grateful for it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

