Skip to content

Recipe Review – A Success!

October 27, 2011
tags:

Well, I finally did it. I baked a vegan chocolate cake that did not suck.

In fact? It was delicious!

I cannot take credit for this culinary masterpiece (if I do say so myself). I found the recipe online, at a site called Instructables. I had never hears of the website before, but I figured over 300 reviews couldn’t be wrong. I’m so glad.


(picture credit goes here)

This is not my beautiful picture, but a picture from the recipe posted online. Mine looked just like it, though. Before I devoured it!!

I was so excited at finally baking something that came out tasty that I called my parents and my sister to brag about it. My husband, god bless him, doesn’t like sweets so he was not nearly excited about this cake as I am. (I think he might be an alien).

Anyway, I’m going to copy and paste the recipe here, but full credit goes to user aliciak at Instructables.com

The BEST Chocolate Cake Ever

Cake Ingredients

1 1/4 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup warm water
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp distilled white or apple cider vinegar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8×8 or 9″ round cake pan with vegetable oil or vegan margerine. In a small bowl mix together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Whisk to blend.

In a larger bowl, combine the water, vanilla, oil, and vinegar.  Stir well. 

Combine dry and wet ingredients and mix well. Batter will be thin, but that’s OK.

Pour into cake pan and bake for around 30 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. (DeliberateVegan’s note: don’t let this overcook, so check it a few minutes before you think it’s done. You want it to be moist and fluffy. If you bake to long it will dry out and be crumbly). 

Cool on wire wrack until completely cool – about 2 hours. 

Chocolate Glaze Ingredients

1/2 cup granulated sugar
4 tbsp vegan margarine
2 tbsp soy milk
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp vanilla extract

For the glaze, in a small saucepan, bring sugar, margarine, milk, and cocoa to a boil. Stir frequently; then reduce heat to a simmer for 2 minutes, stirring constantly. It’ll look gloppy, but it’s just the bubbles! Remove from heat and stir for another 5 minutes.

Add vanilla, stir, and immediately pour onto cake. Glaze dries really quickly, so spread it immediately and add any sprinkles now. Let this cool for an 1 hour, if you can wait that long

And that’s it! Enjoy! I plan on making this recipe for Thanksgiving. I’m going to double it and add some raspberry jam to the middle. I can’t wait!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

