Skip to content

Quick & Easy Dinners

October 31, 2011

Like so many folks, I lead a busy life. I work full time, and am finishing up my master’s degree, I volunteer, and I still like to make time for my family and friends. That means that sometimes I forgo things like a well balanced meal for things like thesis writing and dog transports.

Some of my favorite meals are super quick and easy “pantry dinners.” Things I almost always have on hand and that I can whip up in as small amount of time possible.

Tonight I made one of my favorites – “Cheater” Pad Thai from the Happy Herbivore. This is a fantastic dish. It barely takes any time to whip up and is filling and comforting and perfect for those nights when I don’t want to do anything but sit my butt on the couch.

The biggest bonus though? Is that the ingredients are things that I always have on hand. Rice noodles, peanut butter, and soy sauce with a few spices thrown in. Tonight, I fried up some tofu and threw that in there for some added protein. Sometimes I’ll steam some broccoli and toss that in. These are the best kind of recipes to keep on hand.

Today is my 30th day of veganism and the official end of the 30-day Vegan Challenge. I feel great, and I feel as if I’ve successfully veganized all my old standy-by recipes. I am very rarely searching for something to eat, and I feel confident in my abilities to continue on in a vegan way.

My husband and I chatted about it yesterday and he let me know that he was very impressed with my dedication and wanted to know what he could do to continue to support me. What a wonderful man!

So anyway, I’ll try to post my favorite pantry meals as I whip them up – especially since we’re heading into winter and I always crave the comfort of a home cooked meal when the nights start to turn frigid.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

